Gluten Free Waffles

Homemade waffles, pancakes and crepes have always been a nice morning treat in our house.  Since our daughter’s diagnosis with Celiac’s Disease breakfast just hasn’t quite been the same.  I have made (and thrown out) a number of pancake or waffle batches.  As I stated in an earlier post I am still continually trying to perfect these recipes for the girls.  Here is my most recent, and so far best recipe for gluten free waffles.  The girls like them, and I feel that with a few additional tweaks they will be quite good.

waffles

  • 1 cup of brown rice flour
  • 1/2 cup of potato starch
  • 1/4 cup of tapioca flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt (I usually don’t add)
  • 1/4 cup melted Nutiva Organic Coconut Oil
  • 2 organic eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups of buttermilk ( I will try next time with almond or coconut milk.  Regular organic milk works too)
  • 1 tsp organic sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Mix all ingredients together with a whisk.  Pour into heated and greased waffle maker.  If batter gets too thick, add more milk; if too thin add more brown rice flour.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Breads and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Gluten Free Waffles

  1. These look lovely! Do you all like pancakes too? I just started a new board on Pinterest (I’m very new on that, I know, I’m a little behind) called Hot Cakes! Gluten Free Pancakes by Celiac Kiddo. Check it out for lots of gorgeous pics of syrup laden pancakes 🙂
    -Dana

    • canada jenny says:

      We do like pancakes, and I don’t think these are the best I can do! I am also on Pinterest – Canada Jenny and I seem to always be searching for a better pancake/waffle recipe. I will check you out at Hot Cakes.

  2. Sophie33 says:

    MMMM! Your GF waffles looks so irresistable! I must make them soon!

  3. Kristi Hard says:

    A winner!!! Loved by all 🙂

    A did need to add a little extra brown rice flour…

Leave a Reply

