Pearlescent Powder Room!

We just moved into a new home and I promised myself that there would be no need to paint anything, any time soon.  Unfortunately it’s just not in my nature to sit back and look at the same plain colored walls (though I do love the color – Sherwin Williams – Anew Grey 7030).  So I figured I should start small and the main floor powder room was in need of a boost.

DSC_0014DSC_0012

We all know that paint is one of the easiest and least expensive ways to improve a room.  So with this in mind I went in search of a metallic paint that would coordinate well with the existing color so that I could add some dramatic stripes and some shimmer to the room.

I purchased Benjamin Moore’s Pearlescent White and went to town.  My husband and I measured the total height of the room and divided that number up into equal sized stripes.  I then proceeded to mark off and tape each stripe on the wall.  Since I was only painting every other stripe I made sure that the tape was positioned properly (ie the stripe being painted was the right dimension).

DSC_0013

DSC_0015Since our house was just painted I had plenty of left over paint, and I painted over the edge of each piece of tape with the existing wall paint (on the side that was going to receive the new metallic paint).

DSC_0016DSC_0017DSC_0018

This is a necessary step (don’t skip it) as it seals the tape to the wall, and should any paint bleed through it will be the existing wall paint.  After this dried I took the new Pearlescent White paint and painted in my stripes.  Before letting the paint dry to much, I removed the tape and voila I had perfect (and I mean perfect) striped paint lines.  I love the way the stripes enhance the height of this room and the shimmer is divine.  So what do you think?

IMG_0912 IMG_0913 IMG_0914 IMG_0928

Gallery | This entry was posted in Decor and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Pearlescent Powder Room!

  1. Daddy Rich says:

    yes perfect lines!

  2. Sophie33 says:

    Lovely! Well done!

  3. Everybody's Hero says:

    Nicely done…did you read our book?

  4. Erica Kumar says:

    Wow, that looks great! What a wonderful idea! Was it difficult to get the tape parfectly straight?

Leave a Reply

