Warm Beef Chili for a Cold Day

chiliI realize that homemade chili is typically gluten free, however in most restaurants it is NOT.  Flour is sometimes added to store/restaurant chili to thicken it’s consistency.  In addition, you need to watch out for chili containing chili beans (I know sounds weird right?).  I used to make our chili with chili beans, however most cans of chili beans come is a sauce that contains wheat.  Lastly I am not a big fan of pre made seasoning mixes for a number of reasons.  Most mixes contain ingredients like MSG, and why buy a mix, when they are very simple to make yourself.  With all that said here is my chili recipe!

  • About 1 pound of organic ground beef (mine was 1.34 pds)
  • 1 organic sweet onion
  • Organic peppers (whatever you have in the fridge – red, yellow, green)
  • 3-4 cloves of garlic
  • 1/4 cup of organic cilantro

Brown beef in a pan, drain any excess fat if necessary.  Add onion, garlic, peppers, cilantro and seasoning (see below) and sautee for about 15 minutes.

I make my own seasoning mixes but I also recommend visiting Wellnessmama as her site has 14 different mixes you can make.

http://wellnessmama.com/4430/14-homemade-spice-blends/

My seasoning combination was:  chili, oregano, cumin, paprika, thyme and salt and pepper.  Personally I don’t measure I season to taste!

Put meat mixture into a crockpot and add:

  • 2 cups of organic frozen corn
  • 1 can organic black beans (do not drain)
  • 1 can organic pinto beans (drained)
  • 1 can organic kidney beans (drained)
  • 2 cans of organic diced tomatoes
  • 1 can of organic tomato paste (if needed, see below)

Let simmer on low for at least a couple of hours.  Add more seasoning if necessary.  If during the cooking time chili is watery, I always add a can of organic tomato paste.

TIP:  My husband introduced me to this – we pour a cap full of vinegar on the top of the chili before eating (along with bit of cheese) – delicious!

Gallery | This entry was posted in Dinners and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Warm Beef Chili for a Cold Day

  1. Delicious looking recipe! I have a crock pot and I’m kind of embarrassed to admit that…I’ve never used it !! Please don’t ask why, I really have no idea. My latest excuse is that it’s really high up on a shelf and I can’t reach it. Maybe some day…

  2. Sophie33 says:

    Yuummm! I will make this by using orgzaic pork & veal mince! Yummm!

  3. Angie says:

    Mmmm this looks great!!!

Leave a Reply

