Another Gluten Free Pancake Recipe…

pancakesI’m obsessed…I just can’t stop trying new gluten free pancake recipes for the girls,  because I NEVER feel like I’ve got it just right!  At least this recipe was appreciated by all and gobbled up, but will they freeze well?  Only time will tell..

I adapted this recipe fromThe Endangered Bookeater’s Apple, Cinnamon, Oatmeal Pancake recipe.

http://theendangeredbookeater.com

However my kids don’t like apple pancakes so adapting I must go..

  • 1 cup of brown rice flour
  • 1/3 cup of potato flour (I used potato flakes because that was all I had)
  • 1/3 cup gluten free rolled oats
  • 1/3 cup almond flour
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1/2 cup of organic applesauce
  • 1 cup of coconut milk
  • 1 egg
  • 2-3 tbsp of melted butter

Whisk together dry ingredients in a bowl.  In a separate glass bowl, melt butter and add the rest of the wet ingredients.  Finally add dry ingredients to the wet.  The consistency is somewhat mucky…the batter doesn’t pour onto the griddle.  You have to scoop and pat down.  However they crisp up nicely and I was able to add blueberries for my daughter who wants blueberries, and I left the other ones plain for my daughter number two.

Please, please, please…if you have found and conquered an amazing pancake recipe send it my way and I will give it a try.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Breads and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Another Gluten Free Pancake Recipe…

  1. JenLaneulie says:

    Nice one, these look yummy! Glad my recipe could help 🙂

  2. These look great!

    But I feel the same way! Searching for the perfect pancake (for my specific needs anyhow) is no easy feat!

    We used to use Pamela’s pancake mix and always came out fine, but lately I’ve been trying them from scratch. My wants are healthy(ish) so no white rice mixes, and moist (not falling apart) and freezing well would be great too.

    I’ll keep you posted and you too!
    -Dana

    • canada jenny says:

      I completely agree. I find all these “greatest ever” recipes or pins and when I check them out, many are just mixes. Eating gluten free can be unhealthy if all you are doing is buying prepackaged food and mixes to live on. I am on a mission to make everything from scratch, not only for the health reasons but also for the cost savings. I am also trying to omit the gums in recipes (finding that really difficult) as I have read the digestive issues they can cause. At this rate I should almost be able to create world peace by 2015 🙂

Leave a Reply

