Gluten Free Carrot Cake Cookies

carrotcakecookiesf1Someone told me that around a year from the time you first go gluten free, everything will taste much better than it does to start.  I was also told not to try and duplicate our “pre gluten free” eating habits, but to embrace new foods and recipes.  Unfortunately I have not listen to either one of these pieces of advice yet….hmmm.  Maybe one of these days I will come around, however in the meantime I am determined to feed my two little girls the foods they want – without gluten!  So the reason for my ranting…these cookies turned out nicely (the girls liked them), however I ALWAYS feel that I can make things better next time.  So here’s the recipe…enjoy the results and know that I will try this one again with different flours, as gluten free flour is not one of my favorites.

  • 2 cups of gluten free flour
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 salt
  • 1/3 cup of melted Nutiva Organic Coconut Oil
  • 3/4 cup organic brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/4 cups of grated organic carrots
  • 1/2 cup of organic raisins
  • 3 tbsp flaxseed
  • 1/2 cup cream cheese
  • 1/4 cup powdered sugar

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine flour, cinnamon, baking soda and salt in a medium bowl. In another bowl, whisk together oil, sugar, eggs and carrots; stir into dry ingredients, along with raisins and flaxseed, until thick batter forms.  Drop tablespoons of batter onto cookie sheets covered in parchment paper, about 1½-inches apart. Bake for about 12 minutes. Transfer to wire rack to cool.

In a medium bowl, stir together cream cheese and sugar until smooth; spread about 1 teaspoon on each cooled cookie. Lightly dust cookies with cinnamon if desired. To store, place cookies in an airtight container and refrigerate.

carrotcakecookiesf2

Gallery | This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Gluten Free Carrot Cake Cookies

  1. These cookies look lovely. It is true about gc food tasting better, and I think it will happen sooner than a year! It did for us.

    What kind of GF flour are you using? I found Better Batter to be a really good replacement flour, very close match to gluten flour. I still use it along with my own blend.
    -Dana

    • canada jenny says:

      I used Bob’s and I’m not in love. I think I’ll try some better batter, but I really would like to mix my own instead. Some days though it would be nice to make it easier right?

      • Christina says:

        I really don’t like Bob’s Red Mill All-Purpose and Baking flours; they use garbanzo/chickpea and fava bean flours as the main ones. In my experience and opinion, bean flours are nasty. They end up chalky and bitter. I’m fairly newly gluten-free, and this past Thanksgiving I bought a GF stuffing to try, but I didn’t check the ingredient list super well. After tasting it, I looked and sure enough, the main flour was garbanzo. It was seriously the grossest thing ever. Haha. 😉

        I make Silvana’s All-Purpose GF flour mix, and it has worked very, very well for baking! http://www.easyeats.com/recipes/1109-all-purpose-flour. This mix is easy and makes quite a bit, too. It doesn’t work for thickening soups and gravys – I use oat flour or cornstarch instead!

        Christina (a visitor from Pinterest! 🙂 )

      • canada jenny says:

        Christina,

        I will have to try this mix. Typically I just like making my own combination of flours for every recipe. I tried at the beginning of all of this (we too are new to gluten free) to make mix ahead of time, but each recipe asked for different quantities or different flours and I didn’t want to be tied to one cookbook so to speak. So now I just mix my own…so tell me do you specifically look for recipes that ask for flour mixes? Do you substitute evenly?

        Oh…and thanks for visiting my site 🙂

      • Christina says:

        Well, normally I tend to look at the list of flours a recipe includes and see if it’s similar enough to my mix. If it’s got rice flour, tapioca flour, potato starch, and xanthan gum in roughly the same proportions, I’d just add those individual measurements up and substitute with my Sylvana’s mix. Sometimes it’s a combination.

        Like this recipe (which, by the way, is dangerously good… seriously.): http://gluten-free-zen.com/tag/gluten-free-pull-apart-bread/ . I didn’t have any almond flour, but I had sorghum and my mix. The recipe calls for “1 Cup Sorghum Flour, 1/2 Cup Mama’s Almond All Purpose Gluten Free Flour, 2 Cups Potato Starch, 1/2 Cup Tapioca Flour, and 4 tsp. Xanthan Gum.” I used the sorghum flour, but replaced her 1/2 c. almond flour mix/combined the potato starch and tapioca flour amounts and substituted those with my mix, because that’s a lot of what my mix contains. I added not quite all of the xanthan gum required, because my mix has a bit in it already. It turned out *wonderfully.* I’ve made it three times… 😀

        However, if the recipe calls for more (unique) flours other than what my mix includes, I’ll measure individual flours instead of the mix. A mix is nice for when a recipe just calls for an GF AP flour, regular AP flour, baking flour, or an “official” GF mix from the store. It’s really convenient to have a big batch of AP flour on hand. It’s really still experimental for me, though – I just got married to a GF guy in June. 🙂

        How do you store all of your flours? I’m assuming you have a lot of individual flour bags open and hanging around. Freezer? Pantry? Individual containers?

  2. These look amazing! Can’t wait to make a batch and sneakily, but systematically, eat all of them 🙂

Leave a Reply

