Gluten Free Pineapple Coconut Muffins

pinapplecoconutmuffinsIt’s been a tough week.  I just want to make an old recipe that I know will turn out, that everyone will love and one I could do with my eyes closed. Unfortunately those all contain gluten.  So why am I the only complaining?  Maybe because I’m the one trying to reclaim our diets after our daughters diagnosis.  Yet she isn’t complaining one bit!   Not once has she asked for something she can’t have…or asked me to make something “like I used to”.  For that matter her younger sister isn’t complaining either, and she has had to endure our new diet regardless of the fact that gluten doesn’t seem to bother her.  So what’s my problem you ask?  I’m not sure…I’ve just always loved baking, and right now it’s becoming a bit of a chore for me.  A disappointing chore I might add.

Luckily I had the sense today to tackle and adapt a recipe from the one and only Gluten Free Goddess.

http://glutenfreegoddess.blogspot.com/2011/04/gluten-free-pineapple-coconut-muffins.html

But it wasn’t the recipe itself as much as what she wrote prior to the recipe’s ingredients that help improve my day.  Life is what you make it right?  So today I’m making it…pineapple coconut 🙂

Gluten Free Pineapple Coconut Muffins

  • 1 cup of sweetened coconut
  • 1 cup of potato starch
  • 1 cup of sorghum flour
  • 1/4 cup of coconut flour
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/4 cup flax seed
  • 1/4 cup melted Nutiva Organic Coconut Oil
  • 1/2 cup applesauce
  • 1/2 cup pineapple juice
  • 1/2 cup of coconut milk
  • 1 tbsp organic vanilla
  • 1/2 cup diced pineapple, packed

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line muffin tins with paper liners.

Pour coconut onto cookie sheet and bake 6-10 minutes until slightly golden, stirring periodically so that it doesn’t burn.  Remove and set aside.

Combine dry ingredients and then add all wet ingredients.  Add toasted coconut and spoon into muffins tins.  Bake for 25 minutes until browned.  Cool on wire rack.  Easy to freeze!

Gallery | This entry was posted in Breads and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Gluten Free Pineapple Coconut Muffins

  1. Amanda says:

    Yum! Pineapple and coconut is one of my favorite flavor combinations!

    • canada jenny says:

      Thanks Amanda….they turn out well…and I’ve got a new gluten free loaf of bread in the oven. Keep your fingers crossed it works out so that I can post it 🙂

      • Amanda says:

        Fingers crossed! I’m impressed with your gluten-free baking skills. I have zero interest in actually buying all the flours involved so I usually resort to mixes when it comes to baking 🙂

  2. canada jenny says:

    Thanks. I am trying really hard. I’ve always baked from scratch, but I must admit some days all these flours get the better of me. Then I remember that it’s all for the health of my daughter (and the rest of us of course) and it keeps me going.

  3. You’re pretty amazing Jenny, the fact that you’re experimenting with so many flours so soon – and bread for crying out loud – is truly awesome.

    Try not to be too hard on yourself for feeling down about the whole GF baking thing. I think it’s totally okay and natural to feel heavy about this major dietary shift in your life. It’s beyond fantastic that your girls are doing so well with the transition – but isn’t that the way it so often is, kids adapt so much faster than we do. It took me a LONG time to feel comfortable baking after my daughter’s celiac diagnosis, but now I love baking again, and perhaps even more because to me, GF baking is more interesting than grabbing a bag of white or whole wheat flour. But it takes time to get there. From my vantage point, it looks like you’re doing quite a remarkable job.

  4. canada jenny says:

    Dana, thank you so much for the kind words. It’s just so disappointing when time and effort aren’t rewarded with great results…and I want GREAT, not just “good for gluten free”. I know I just need to take a deep breath sometimes…not something I’m good at unfortunately. But don’t worry I haven’t given up that easily. Just know that I so appreciate the support, and need it. Too bad you didn’t live in CO 🙂

  5. I wish I did live closer! I feel very lacking in the in-person support department, but thank goodness for the internet 🙂 My husband just asked me, who could you possibly be emailing (still)? And I’m like, my blog friends, ha.

    Believe me, I totally understand not wanting to waste time with sub par experiments! I have zero time to spare with two young kids, and I’m very impatient to get it “right” the first time – and by right, I mean awesome tasting 🙂 So I’m totally with you on that. Which is why I think I stuck to using AP mixes like Better Batter and Bob’s for a while early on, because it was “safer” and really only in the last year have I branched out into trying to experiment more.

    But coming from a wimpy place myself, I think it’s great to be brave and try using all the different flours early on. You will learn what works and what doesn’t. And when you need a tried and true recipe, there are many to choose from.

    By the way, I read the Gluten Free Goddess post from the recipe and it’s pretty fantastic. Also, kind of awful, too, but I think you know what I mean.

    Glad you’re out there! Helps to have some solidarity in all this.

  6. canada jenny says:

    I like that I get to be your blog friend…my first! My husband continually tells me that a year from now I will look back and be in a completely different frame of mind. I agree with him, but wish I didn’t have to put in a year of frustration (obviously patience is not my virtue!) So thank you again just for being there….it helps so much. When I read the GFG post it was sad, but it also made me realize that I wasn’t alone. That in itself does wonders…go to bed!

  7. Sophie33 says:

    MMMM! I love your Gf coconut muffins a lot! When I was Gf for 1 year, I loved using coconut flour a lot!

  8. canada jenny says:

    Actually I LOVE coconut too…in anything, and coconut flour smells divine. I’ve just learnt that you can’t use too much of it or it dries out the baked goods you are making.

Leave a Reply

