Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

Gluten Free Chocolate Chip CookiesFor those of you that have been following my blog, you have probably now picked up on the fact that I am obsessive about getting the perfect recipe and the perfect final product.  Perfecting pancakes, waffles, crepes…the list goes on.  In fact I’m beginning to see that I have more obsessions than I ever thought I did.  Food wise (and I won’t even get in to other categories) my obsessions seem to be expanding.

So my latest….chocolate chip cookies.  I unfortunately compare EVERYTHING I make to my pre-gluten free days, and choco chip cookies were a household favorite.  Personally I always liked adding oats to them, so that they were a little heartier (I think I figured I would eat less if they filled me up faster :))  So when I came upon the vegan version of this recipe at Made Just Right I knew I would take this recipe, adapt it and make these delicious cookies…and they turned out great!

But just know now…..I am not yet done with the chocolate chip cookie!

  • 1 1/2 cups of gluten free rolled oats
  • 3/4 cup gluten free oat flour
  • 1 tbsp cornstarch
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 cup organic butter, softened
  • 1/3 cup Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Sugar
  • 1/4 cup organic brown sugar
  • 1 organic egg
  • 1 tsp Simply Organic Vanilla Extract
  • 1/2 cup organic chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup organic sweetened, shredded coconut (optional – I didn’t add this time ’cause the hubby asked me not to)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.   Mix the oats, oat flour, cornstarch, baking powder and salt in a bowl, then set aside.

In a mixer, cream butter and add sugars until light and fluffy.  Add in egg and vanilla and mix well.

Add the dry ingredients to the wet, and stir until combined.  Fold in chocolate chips and coconut.

Spoon out into ball on cookie sheets covered in parchment paper.  Bake for 15-18 minutes, or until golden brown.

Let cookies cool slightly on cookie sheet before removing.

Makes approximately 2 dozen cookies.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Laura says:

    These look fantastic. I don’t eat gluten either due to an intolerance, but I love and miss cookies! I try to stay away from store bought ones because they are so overpriced! Looking forward to trying this recipe when the craving hits 🙂

    • canada jenny says:

      Laura, they are really quite good. So give them a try and let me know what you think. Store bought ones are not only overpriced, but often full of unwanted ingredients.

      I hope you find a few other recipes on my blog too!

  2. Karen Brown says:

    Needed this one yesterday for my Easter baking will give it a go for the weekend. They look real good.

  3. Bridget29 says:

    I have to try your recipe. My cookies always turn out very hard or very elastic.

    • canada jenny says:

      Yes please do try. Right out of the oven they are amazing. I let them sit out over night without putting them away and I feel like today they were a little crispy. So store them in tupperware right away (after cooling) and I think they will remain chewy. I’m still trying to figure out the baking items I can freeze or the ones that we need to eat right away.

  4. These look so good! I love oatmeal chocolate chip anything, and I will definitely try making these asap. I’m on an oats kick lately, better stock up 🙂
    -Dana

Leave a Reply

