Gluten Free Crepes with Lemon Juice and Sugar

Gluten Free Crepes with Lemon Juice & SugarCrepes are a special weekend breakfast for us….and they remind me of my mom.  Growing up every once in awhile my brothers and I would be treated to crepes….always sprinkled with sugar, and lemon juice squeezed on top.  My own daughters now are equally addicted.  Crepes also remind me of wonderful trip to Paris with my cousin Laura….

My mom tested this recipe in Canada for us, and I made them this morning.  While I am trying my best to completely omit any gums in all of my baking, I did put xanthan gum in today.  Check back and I will definitely try this recipe again without xanthan gum and I will update this post.

  • 1/4 cup of sweet white rice flour
  • 1/4 cup of garbanzo bean flour
  • 2 tbsp potato starch
  • 1/2 tsp xanthan gum
  • 3 organic eggs
  • 1 cup of organic coconut milk
  • 1 tbsp melted organic butter
  • 1 tsp Simply Organic Vanilla Extract

Beat eggs, milk and melted butter.  Mix flours together with gum and
add to egg mixture.  Whisk well to get out all the lumps.  It will seem
thicker than usual but 1/3 of a cup covers the bottom of the crepe pan. You may need to add another tablespoon of milk to thin the batter out.  Use right away.  Serve with sprinkled sugar and lemon juice (or butter and maple syrup).

Gallery | This entry was posted in Breads, Gluten Free, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Gluten Free Crepes with Lemon Juice and Sugar

  1. Laura says:

    Wow, these look fantastic!!! I’m looking forward to this g-free breakfast for sure 🙂

  2. What a nice memory about your mom! The crepes look great. Love the idea of lemon and sugar. Yum!
    -Dana

  3. Sophie33 says:

    These look amazing & awesomely tasty too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

