Gluten Free Crockpot Chicken Tikka Masala

Gluten Free Crockpot Tikka Masala - Canada JennyWho doesn’t love to come home to dinner already made and waiting for you?  I use my crockpot often, and love when I come upon a new crockpot recipe to try out.

I adapted this recipe from Table For Two and only changed/added a couple or things.

  • 4 organic boneless, skinless chicken breasts cubed (I put mine in slightly frozen)
  • 1/2 onion diced (you can do more, but my hubbie doesn’t like onions)
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 2 tbsp fresh ginger, minced
  • 1 can (280z) organic tomato puree
  • 1 1/2 cup organic plan yogurt
  • 2 tbsp melted Nutiva Organic Coconut Oil
  • 2 tbsp garam marsala
  • 1 tbsp cumin
  • 1/2 tbsp paprika
  • 1/2 tbsp coriander
  • 1/2 tbsp curry powder (optional)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 3 tbsp cornstarch
  • chopped organic parsley or cilantro to garnish

Combine all of the above ingredients (excluding heavy cream, cornstarch and herbs) in crockpot and stir.

Cover and cook for 6 hours on low or 4 or high.

When done, in bowl whisk together heavy cream and cornstarch and add to the crockpot mixture.  Let cook about 15-20 minutes until sauce thickens.

If you want to add any veggies do so at the same time as you add the heavy cream and cornstarch, or steam veggies separately.

Serve over rice with veggies mixed in or on the side.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Gluten Free, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gluten Free Crockpot Chicken Tikka Masala

  1. This looks delicious! I love Indian food, and since we rarely go out anymore, I really need to make it at home. And use my crock pot. Which I’ve NEVER used. I know. It’s silly, but I’ve been scared of it. Also, it’s on a very high shelf. Never mind that I’m rather tall. I am pretty sure I can’t reach it. But maybe now I should get a step stool or something.

    Funny about your husband not liking onions, my husband has a sensitivity to them and I can’t cook with them at all 😦 which makes me sad. Because onions are good.
    -Dana

    • Canada Jenny says:

      Dana…get that stool out because I have another crockpot recipe on the way. It’s just not going to stop. I will be your crockpot mentor. Don’t be afraid, trust me (heard that one before right?) really…it’s easy. One day you might even thank me for getting started. With two little kids, it makes life just that much easier some days.

  2. Valerie says:

    I absolutely love using my slow cooker! Like you said, it’s like having a “wife”! lol Great recipe, btw. 🙂

Leave a Reply

